At the end of each Rotary year we take time to reflect on the good we do in service to our Club, the Community and Internationally. President Doug treated us to a year in review and highlighted the extraordinary contributions of many of our members.


First there was the "Dirty Dozen", our board of directors who worked tirelessly through the year to achieve our goals. Three of the Directors, Karen Cassard, Dave Sweeterman and Lloyd Wood, will be leaving the Board and were presented with appreciation plaques. Lloyd was especially thanked for agreeing to be President Doug's mentor during the year.

Highlights of the year included 8 new members, active service and social programs, special recognition and the fact that we are financially sound.

On the attendance front, the Skidaway Island club recently received recognition that it had the 3rd highest attendance record in District 6920. Twenty eight members had over 90% attendance, 12 of which had Perfect Attendance. Many in this group had multiple years of perfect attendance (Lee Weiner has racked up 17 years of perfect attendance at our club and his former club). Tom McGoldrick and Jon Peterson have had 100% attendance records since joining the club. Certificates were presented for the 100% attendance records this past year.

Service Above Self awards were presented to the following members:

Eddie Ambrose - Host Family for GRSP  (the first of many to say "yes, I'd be happy do it")
Lee Weiner - Rotary-Kiwanis Ryder Cup Challenge (special thanks for winning!)
Tom Macek - Fall Festival  (a great start for fundraising)
Lloyd Wood - Red Badge Program  (insuring our future success)
Toni Marwitz - Programs (never skipped a beat - a scrambler when necessary)
Bob Neumann - Fellowship of Rotary (This man can PARTY! A beer koozie was presented with a 4-Way test... Is it cold?, etc)
Cliff Lindholm - Vocational Service (admitting that the work is done by committee chairs, Cliff has orchestrated this for years - exceptionally)
Tom Thomas - Junior Achievement (new school, expanded list of volunteers, a very rewarding experience for students and instructors)
Jon Peterson - DeRenne Career Days (including the Flight Safety Training trip, the most appreciated service projects at DeRenne)
Dave Sweeterman - International Service  (Matenwa CLC, highlighted by Chris Low visit. A much better understanding of Rotary's impact)
Doreen Higgins, Darrel Snuggerud, George Sedberry - eBulletin & Internet (working together as a team and added active Facebook updates)
Chuck Koepke, Tom Schendorf, Tom McGoldrick - Community Service (ASH Packing, Kids Cafe, CEPSA project - Opportunities for the future)
Tom Lanahan - Spring Fling  and Rookie of the Year (a unique style, funny and totally involved since joining in mid June '12)

The Rotarian of the Year is Jim Eleczko.  As treasurer, Jim has saved the club over $6,000 (compared to the previous year). He does it with such ease. Jim is also actively involved in vocational and "sweat equity" projects. While there were a number of candidates for this top spot, Jim takes the honors. He was presented with a plaque, Rotarian of the Year pin and the Board of Directors awarded him club points to achieve the next Paul Harris Fellow level.  Congratulations Jim!

President Doug closed the presentation with the introduction of our next President - Jon Peterson. The changing of the guard ceremony will take place at the TGIF party at Tom Macek's on Friday, June 28 (5:30-??). Plan to be there.